St. Carolyn By the Sea CD

Title: St. Carolyn By The Sea / Suite From "There Will Be Blood"
Artists: Bryce Dessner / Jonny Greenwood
Format: CD
Release Date: March 3, 2014
Label: Deutsche Grammophon GmbH, Berlin

Bryce Dessner: St. Carolyn By The Sea
01)  St. Carolyn By The Sea
02)  Lachrimae
03)  Raphael
Jonny Greenwood: Suite From "There Will Be Blood"
04)  Open Spaces
05)  Future Markets
06)  HW / Hope Of New Fields
07)  Henry Plainview
08)  Proven Lands
09)  Oil

Following his acclaimed compositional release Aheym, Bryce Dessner released St. Carolyn by the Sea on March 4th. Released on Deutsche Grammophon/Universal Music, St. Carolyn by the Sea features debut recordings of three of Dessner’s compositions – the title work, “Lachrimae” and “Raphael” – performed by the Copenhagen Philharmonic under conductor Andre de Ridder. The pieces draw from a number of different influences including Jack Kerouac’s novel Big Sur on the title piece, compositional work from renaissance composer John Dowland on “Lachrimae,” and experimentation with an old harmonium on “Raphael.” The recordings feature performances on guitar by Dessner and his twin brother, Aaron. St. Carolyn by the Sea presents Dessner’s works alongside a suite by Radiohead’s Jonny Greenwood, one of Dessner’s peers as a rock guitarist and genre-bounding composer.