Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers CD

Title: Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers
Format: CD
Release Date: September 2nd, 2003
Label: Brassland Records 

01)  Cardinal Song
02)  Slipping Husband
03)  90-Mile Water Well
04)  It Never Happened
05)  Murder Me Rachael
06)  Thirsty
07)  Available
08)  Sugar Wife
09)  Trophy Wife
10)  Fashion Coat
11)  Patterns of Fairytales
12)  Lucky You

The National’s second album, Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers (2003) proved a leap forward from 2001’s eponymous debut, showing a band adept at delivering warm embraces and gut-punches in equal measure. With word of mouth now spreading on the band, critics proved equally enthusiastic. Pitchfork in their glowing review called it a “Gorgeous train wreck” that “Lives up to its blunt title (with) Matt Berninger’s self-effacing barbs matched by the band’s equally potent hooks,” while Uncut also became early champions saying the album was “A genuine treasure... Livid as a bruise, this is brave, desperate, beautiful music.”

No longer a secret among those that know, Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers is an important record in The National’s discography with this new remaster showing that it’s more than standing the test of time.