Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers - 2021 Remaster Vinyl LP (Black)

Title: Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers
Format: 12" Vinyl (Black) 
Reissue Date: February 26, 2021
Original Release Date: September 1, 2003
Label: 4AD Ltd

Digital download is not included.

A1)  Cardinal Song
A2)  Slipping Husband
A3)  90-Mile Water Well
A4)  It Never Happened
A5)  Murder Me Rachael
B1)  Thirsty
B2)  Available
B3)  Sugar Wife
B4)  Trophy Wife
B5)  Fashion Coat
B6)  Patterns of Fairytales
B7)  Lucky You

Twenty years on from the release of their self-titled debut album, The National are reissuing it along with 2003’s follow-up Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers and 2004’s Cherry Tree EP on February 26, 2021. With all three records having been remastered at Abbey Road Studios, the 2021 represses stay faithful to their original artwork while their stunning new masters help make these much-loved records sound as vital as ever.

The National’s second album, Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers (2003) proved a leap forward from 2001’s eponymous debut, showing a band adept at delivering warm embraces and gut punches in equal measure. With word of mouth now spreading on the band, critics proved equally enthusiastic... Pitchfork in their glowing review called it a “Gorgeous train wreck” that “Lives up to its blunt title (with) Matt Berninger’s self-effacing barbs matched by the band’s equally potent hooks,” while Uncut also became early champions saying the album was “A genuine treasure... Livid as a bruise, this is brave, desperate, beautiful music.” 

No longer a secret among those that know, Sad Songs For Dirty Lovers is an important record in The National’s discography with this new remaster showing that it’s more than standing the test of time.